Cold War with the cold sore!

image

Its coming down to the final weeks of my diploma and while I don’t consider myself stressed (I happen to adopt the French attitude of work/life balance…more life, less work) I woke up this morning with a dirty rotten cold sore. I have only had 3 in my life so I can’t really complain and I feel sorry for chronic cold sore sufferers, but obviously the (minimal) stress and winter weather have been prime real estate for this bastard to prosper. BUT aside from the aforementioned, I actually think the reason I now have a fat lip (not the Kylie Jenner good kind) is because my diet in the last week has been atrocious. I have smashed foods that I normally wouldn’t…doughnuts, popcorn, ice cream, bread! This has really brought home the fact that our diet and food choices directly impact our body balance.

So to help boost your immune system in the colder months (and all year round really) amp up the vitamin c. Hence the reason for that particularly plain lunch I had today pictured above! And yeh it’s in loads more foods other than oranges…and orange juice…stay away from that! Try adding these to your meals:

Capsicums/peppers, dark leafy greens, kiwi fruit, broccoli, berries, citrus fruits, tomatoes, peas.

 

 

 

Leave a comment