Leg warmers: Fact or Fiction?

image

Ballet is a very expensive sport/hobby/art/job. Not only do you need pointe shoes but you need demi pointes that are essentially broken pointe shoes and these ain’t cheap!  I just forked out $94 dollars for a new pair of demi’s and $8 for ribbons! Then, the pointes were $120 plus leotards that are around $45-$60, legwarmers $15 (not essential but they make you look legit) then tights at $16.95 a pop. Speaking of tights…

Last night at ballet, I was so excited to road test my new shoes that I completely forgot about my tights. Which would’ve been fine if I was a size two and it wasn’t winter. But alas my thunder buns were jiggling round in the freezing cold. And whilst I was wearing leg warmers, their name is very misleading and really they were just keeping my ankles warm.  In my whole dancing life I have never gone bare leg! My nan use to threaten it to students that forgot their ballet tights and that were wearing the incorrect attire, but she never went through with it. And now here I was at 30 looking like a swimmer that had stumbled into a ballet class. I contemplated doing it in my trackies, but they are so bulky you can’t dance properly anyhow! So I thought ‘YOLO, it’s not like you’re naked!’ And god-damn it was liberating! I can’t say how liberating it was for the person standing behind me though….

Leave a Reply

